A cake served with liquid gold

I love everything caramel flavoured almost as much as I like anything chocolate flavoured. This recipe had a caramel sauce and as soon as I saw that I was like “Heck yeah, I’m makin’ this!”.

I found this delectable recipe for a Sticky Date Cake with Caramel Sauce in a magazine, courtesy of Food Ideas. It looked absolutely scrumptious and very easy to make. This is totally a must try for beginner cooks out there like moi.

I haven’t baked many cakes in my life but I was very proud of the finished product. I’ve seen my Mum bake cakes before, some of which turned out to be blundering failures, the cake would either deflate, break into pieces when taken out of the cake tin or not taste very nice (not to discredit my Mum’s baking skills, though – you know I love you, Mum!). As a result of these not so successful cake baking attempts, I always used to think “Geez, cakes must be hard to do!”. So when it came to the all-revealing moment of witnessing the end result, I was hoping all worked out well.

And then…

When I ran the knife along the edge of the cake, flipped over the cake tin and it slipped out in one, beautiful, perfect piece, it was like “AAAAAHHHHH!!!”(heavenly chorus sings). The divine beacon of light shone upon this gorgeous caramel coloured sponge cake sitting before me. What a relief, I thought to myself. Then came pouring over the thick caramel sauce, and like liquid gold, it glimmered spectacularly in the sunlight.

The cake batter: mix thoroughly to reduce lumpiness.

Caramel Sauce aka 'Liquid Gold'

Eureka! I perfect cake in ONE piece.

More importantly, did it taste good?

You will be pleasantly surprised to know, it did. The cake turned out to be moist, light and you could really taste the fruitiness of the dates infused throughout every inch of the cake, and together with the creamy caramel sauce it was delish.

See the recipe below:

Ingredients:
250g pitted dates, chopped
1 teaspoon baking powder
1½ cups boiling water
125g butter softened
¾ cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs, at room temperature
2 cups self-raising flour, sifted

Caramel Sauce
1 cup brown sugar
300ml thickened cream
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
60g butter, chopped

Method:
1. Preheat oven tp 180˚C/160˚C fan forced. Grease a 7cm-deep, 22cm (base) round cake tin. Line base with wax paper.

2. Place dates in a heat-proof bowl. Add the baking powder and then the boiled water. Leave for 20 minutes or until dates are tender.

3. Place butter, sugar, and vanilla and beat till pale and creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating till mixed thoroughly for each egg. Add date mixture, flour and stir to combine.

4. Spoon the mixture into tin. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until skewer comes out clean. Stand for 10 minutes and turn on to wire-rack.

5. To make the caramel sauce. Place sugar, butter, vanilla extract and cream into a saucepan. On medium heat, stir constantly until boiling. Let simmer for a further 2-3 minutes. Pour over cake.

My Tips and Recommendations:
• Baking powder is the same as bicarbonate soda (I always was unsure of the difference).
• Make sure butter is softened for the cake mix. I made the mistake of putting in the block of butter straight from the fridge and had to constantly keep spooning off the butter off the beater as it kept getting stuck – very annoying.
• Don’t expect the sauce to thicken when boiling away in the saucepan. It will thicken up into that buttercotchy consistency when you leave it to cool.

Sticky Date Cake with Caramel Sauce

7 thoughts on “A cake served with liquid gold

  1. it looks amazing… But how sweet is it?? I mean with the dates and the caramel, I’m supposing it might be really sweet. My husband n kid doesn’t like too sweet cakes…Let me know so that I can try baking this gorgoeus looking cake!

    • Oh, it’s not that sweet at all! The only sweetness that comes from this dish is from the ‘liquid gold’ caramel sauce. Plus the recipe only uses brown sugar which is much milder in sweetness than white sugar. You should definitely try it out!

  2. Pingback: A cake served with liquid gold « iHousewife

Leave a Reply

