Chocolate Macarons? I say yes.

Put your hands up in the air if you love chocolate. Well, if you’re someone like me, your hands would be frantically waving around like a mad man right now.

As you would have seen in my ‘About’ page of my blog, I am by no means a food expert nor an expert cook. But every now and again I like to put my culinary skills to the test in the kitchen and cook a nice meal for my family – give Mum a break for once, you know?

Today, I made a delectable little sweet treat to satisfy my chocolate indulgence. I made Chocolate Macarons. Believe it or not, but I have never had a macaron until this year (this just proves my point of being a non-expert of food, ay?). I always was aware there were such things as a macaron but had no idea what they looked like or even tasted like. They always seemed to be a fancy dessert you would only find in a five-star restaurant, and a five-star restaurant was probably a place you would never find me dining.

I recall a time on this year’s season of Masterchef where the contestants made macarons as part of a challenge, and it was this that really sparked my interest in these delicate little desserts. The first time I had one was when I was at Laurent Boulangerie Patissserie, an authentic French cafe in Melbourne. Just being there, sipping on my cappuccino and eating macarons made me feel really…french. It was like my social status had risen a few levels just being there.

My first tasting of a macaron lived up to everything I imagined it would be. The hard outer layer combined with the marshmellowy centre and cream filling is to die for. You feel almost bad for biting into that perfectly smooth shell. Seeing this dessert made on Masterchef, I thought to myself, how hard can this be? And so, with the culinary juices flowing inside me, I decided to try make some myself. See below:

 

The perfect chocolate macaron mixture: egg whites, cocoa powder, icing and caster sugar and almond meal.

Don’t forget to let your macarons set for 20 minutes before putting it in the oven!

 

The cream filling. Mmmmm…chocolate.

The end result. A perfect Chocolate Macaron.

 

This is my second attempt at making macarons and it’s not as hard as it looks. I think anyone can make macarons that look as good as this (if I do say so myself). It’s a very simple process using minimal ingredients. I love making macarons now so much so that if anybody has any recipes to share, please let me know!

Comment, critique, subscribe.

 

One thought on “Chocolate Macarons? I say yes.

  1. Pingback: Would Jaffa-ncy that? « Generation Food

Leave a Reply

