It’s a winner!

In the spirit of Indian cuisine as per my previous post I have been yet again been inspired to post about my appreciation for a gorgeous Indian dish. We recently had a dinner the other night with my sister’s Indian in-laws, and let me tell you, the food we had was spectacular. There was a standout dish of the night and that was the chicken biryani.

Biryani. A popular spicy rice dish cooked in a lot of South Asian countries. As with most Indian dishes, there is a list of ingredients as long as my arm that all contribute to making this beautiful dish. Classic spices like cumin, cloves, cardamom, and cinnamon just to name a few are in this dish and they really pack a punch on your taste buds not to mention producing an incredible smell. This particular biryani was made with chicken and there actually wasn’t a lot of it in there but the rice was rich with flavour, infused with a multitude of spices making my tongue orgasm on the first spoonful. Now, I did hear the fiance’s mum talk about how she made this dish and I swear she went on about it for 10 minutes. There are a lot of processes involved but I kind of tuned out for a while so I missed a whole lot of it, but whatever she did won me over.

I had no idea what this was before I tried it. My sister would always talk about how her fiance loves this dish and how his mum would always cook it all the time. I now understand why the guy loves it so much! Heck, I could live on this for the rest of my life.

Chicken biryani: a surefire winner

One thought on “It’s a winner!

  1. Pingback: Indian Summer Nights « Generation Food

Leave a Reply

